NEIL YOUNG & CRAZY HORSE

Donnerstag, 11. Juli 2013

Main Hall: Stehplätze

Rockhal Main Hall

5, avenue du Rock'n'Roll, Esch, Alzette Luxembourg L-4361

Preis: 60 € + 5 € VVK Gebühr

Show: 19.50 Uhr

Einlass ab: 19.00 Uhr

Support: JONATHAN WILSON
Organized by: Rockhal

NEIL YOUNG & CRAZY HORSE

Jonathan Wilson: 19:50
Neil Young: 21:00

 

Im Anschluss an die positiven Kritiken, die das neueste expansive Album „Psychedelic Pill“ einheimste, haben Neil Young & Crazy Horse nun die Einzelheiten einer Europa-Tour bekannt gegeben, die am 11. Juli 2013 auch einen sehnlich erwarteten Zwischenstopp in der Rockhal einlegen wird. Die Show wird Youngs erster Auftritt in Luxemburg seit seiner triumphalen Performance mit seiner legendären Band Crazy Horse (Frank „Poncho“ Sampedro, Billy Talbot und Ralph Molino) im Jahr 1987 sein.

Neil Young & Crazy Horse haben kürzlich eine Nordamerika-Tournee abgeschlossen und begeben sich im März auf die Weiterreise nach Australien und Neuseeland, bevor sie Anfang Sommer auch europäischen Boden betreten.

Youngs fünfunddreißigstes Album „Psychedelic Pill“ wurde im Oktober 2012 veröffentlicht und zählt zu denjenigen Werken des kanadischen Hitschreibers, die von der Kritik am meisten gefeiert wurden. Das Album beginnt mit „Driftin‘ Back“, einem packenden, 27 Minuten langen Epos, das mit einer akustischen Intro startet (der einzige Teil des Albums, der in Kamuela auf Hawaii eingespielt wurde), bevor es Wege beschreitet, die zuvor angedeutet, aber nie wirklich erkundet wurden. Jesus, der Maharishi und Picasso haben Auftritte in diesem Song, denn Young ist aufgefallen, dass die Bilder und Botschaften, die mit ihnen verbunden werden, stets korrumpiert sind oder falsch interpretiert werden. Zudem befürchtet er, dass auch seine eigene Botschaft und Kunst durch eben jene Technik korrumpiert und vermindert worden sind, die sie zugänglicher gemacht hat.

Zwei weitere Songs auf dem Album begeben sich auf ähnlich expansives musikalisches Terrain, die elegische Ode „Ramada Inn“ und das beherzte Gebet „Walk Like A Giant“. Andere Highlights finden sich bei „Born in Ontario“ das dem explizit autobiographischen Faden weitere Einzelheiten und neue Perspektiven hinzuwebt und zurückführt zu „Helpless“; „Twisted Road“ dagegen ist ein freudiges Dankeschön an einige von denen, die ihn inspiriert haben (und ihn bis heute inspirieren), mit Bob Dylan („Like Hank Williams chewin‘ bubble gum / Askin‘ me ‚How does it feel‘“) an der Spitze. Der Titelsong schließlich durchläuft verschiedene Phasen, ein wirbelndes Stampfen, in dem er dem Geist des Rock ’n’ Roll in seiner reinsten Form huldigt.

Die Show verspricht sowohl neues Material als auch die klassischen Hits, die Neil Young berühmt gemacht haben. Zweifellos ist die Begeisterung der Kritiker, die die Tour begleitet, ein deutliches Zeichen dafür, dass es Neil Young auch nach einer fünf Jahrzehnte umspannenden Karriere noch gelingt, die Massen zu bewegen. Verpasst auf keinen Fall Neil Young & Crazy Horse live in der Rockhal am 11. Juli 2013. Ein absolutes Must-See-Event!

Videos from 


SUBSCRIBE to our newsletter





Whats On

Oktober 2020
S M D M D F S
  01 02 03
04 05 06 07 08 09 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23
25
26 27
28
29
30
31
28-10-2020
KATIE MELUA
Main Hall
29-10-2020
31-10-2020

Upcoming Shows Rock/Pop

28-10-2020

KATIE MELUA


29-10-2020

BRIT FLOYD


06-11-2020

ZUCCHERO


20-11-2020

SUZANE

NEIL YOUNG & CRAZY HORSE

Thursday, 11 July 2013

Main Hall: Standing

Rockhal Main Hall

5, avenue du Rock'n'Roll, Esch, Alzette Luxembourg L-4361

Price: 60 € + 5 € presale fee

Show: 19.50 hrs

Doors: 19.00 hrs

Support: JONATHAN WILSON
Organized by: Rockhal

NEIL YOUNG & CRAZY HORSE

Jonathan Wilson: 19:50
Neil Young: 21:00

 

Following the positive reviews that greeted the recent expansive double-album “Psychedelic Pill”, Neil Young & Crazy Horse has now confirmed details of a European tour, with a highly awaited stopover at the Rockhal on 11 July 2013. The show represents Young’s first date in Luxembourg since his triumphant show back in 1987 with his legendary band Crazy Horse (Frank ‘Poncho’ Sampedro, Billy Talbot and Ralph Molina).

Neil Young & Crazy Horse recently completed a North American tour and are next scheduled to tour Australia and New Zealand next March, before the European leg begins at the start of the summer.

Young's thirty-fifth album “Psychedelic Pill” was released in October 2012 and is among the best-reviewed pieces of work from the Canadian hitmaker's entire catalogue. The album opens with “Driftin’ Back”, a gripping, 27-minute epic which starts with an acoustic intro (the only section of the album which was recorded in Kamuela, Hawaii) before it pokes down pathways that have been hinted at before, but never fully explored. Jesus, the Maharishi and Picasso make appearances in the song, Young noting how the images and messages associated with them are invariably corrupted or misconstrued. And, he fears, his own message and art have been corrupted and diminished by the very technology that has made it more accessible.

Two other songs on the album touch in similarly expansive musical territory, the elegiac ode “Ramada Inn” and the spirited prayer of “Walk Like A Giant”. Other highlights include “Born in Ontario” which offers further detail and new perspectives to the explicitly autobiographical thread that winds back to “Helpless”; “Twisted Road” is a joyous thank-you note to some of the others who inspired (and continue to inspire) him, with Bob Dylan (“Like Hank Williams chewin’ bubble gum / Askin’ me ‘How does it feel’”) at the fore; and the title track is phased, swirling stomp in which he honours the rock ‘n’ roll spirit at its most pure.

The show promises to showcase both new material and the classic hits that made Neil Young a household name. Without a doubt the critical acclaim surrounding the tour dates illustrates just how Neil Young continues to pull massive crowds five decades into his impressive career. Don’t miss out on seeing Neil Young & Crazy Horse live at the Rockhal on 11 July 2013. This will be an absolute must-see event!

 

Videos from 


SUBSCRIBE

Whats On

June 2017
S M T W T F S
  01 02 03
04 05 06 07 08 09 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23
25 26
27
28
29 30  
28-06-2017
KALEO
Club

Tell your friends

RSS