NEIL YOUNG & CRAZY HORSE

jeudi, 11 juillet 2013

Main Hall: Debout

Rockhal Main Hall

5, avenue du Rock'n'Roll, Esch, Alzette Luxembourg L-4361

Prix: 60 € + 5 € frais de prévente

Show: 19.50 hrs

Ouverture des portes prévue à: 19.00 hrs

Support: JONATHAN WILSON
Organized by: Rockhal

NEIL YOUNG & CRAZY HORSE

Jonathan Wilson: 19:50
Neil Young: 21:00

 

Suite aux critiques positives de leur double-album récent « Psychedelic Pill », Neil Young & Crazy Horse viennent de confirmer les détails de leur tournée européenne qui contiendra une escale très attendue à la Rockhal le 11 juillet 2013. Ce sera la première prestation de Neil Young au Luxembourg depuis son spectacle triomphant de 1987 avec son groupe légendaire Crazy Horse (Frank « Poncho » Sampedro, Billy Talbot et Ralph Molina).

Neil Young & Crazy Horse ont récemment fait une tournée en Amérique du Nord et se préparent à envahir l'Australie et la Nouvelle-Zélande au mois de mars avant de se déplacer en Europe au début de l'été.

En octobre 2012, Young a fait paraître son 35e album « Psychedelic Pill » qui fait partie des oeuvres les mieux reçues du catalogue de ce musicien canadien. L'album commence par « Driftin’ Back », une chanson captivante et épique de 27 minutes qui débute avec une introduction acoustique (la seule partie de l'album enregistrée à Kamuela, à Hawaï) avant d'emprunter des sentiers musicaux qu’il a découverts il y a maintenant quelques années, mais qui n’ont jamais été explorés entièrement. Jésus, les Maharishi et Picasso figurent parmi ceux qui apparaissent dans la chanson tandis que Young explique comment les images et messages qui sont associés avec eux sont toujours invariablement corrompus ou mal compris. Il craint également que son propre message et son art aient été corrompus et réduits par la technologie qui les a rendus plus accessibles.

Deux autres chansons sur l'album traitent de sujets musicaux semblables, l'ode élégiaque « Ramada Inn » et la prière animée « Walk Like A Giant ». Autres temps forts: « Born in Ontario », qui offre encore plus de détails et de nouvelles perspectives en renouant avec les aspects autobiographiques  de « Helpless »; « Twisted Road » est un remerciement chaleureux adressé à ceux qui l'ont inspiré (et qui continuent de le faire), dont un certain Bob Dylan (« Like Hank Williams chewin’ bubble gum / Askin’ me ‘How does it feel’ »); et la piste titre est une chanson tourbillonnante et lourde qui rend honneur à l'esprit du rock‘n’roll dans son état le plus brut.

Ce spectacle promet de présenter du nouveau matériel et les tubes classiques qui ont fait de Neil Young un musicien de renommée planétaire. Les bonnes critiques et les nombreuses dates de sa tournée illustrent sans doute combien Neil Young continue d'attirer les masses après une carrière impressionnante qui a commencé il y a maintenant un demi-siècle. Le 11 juillet 2013, ne ratez pas cette occasion unique de vivre Neil Young & Crazy Horse à la Rockhal. Cet événement sera un must absolu !

Videos from 


SUBSCRIBE to our newsletter





Whats On

Octobre 2020
D L M M J V S
  01 02 03
04 05 06 07 08 09 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23
25
26 27
28
29
30
31
28-10-2020
KATIE MELUA
Main Hall
29-10-2020
31-10-2020

Upcoming Shows Rock/Pop

28-10-2020

KATIE MELUA


29-10-2020

BRIT FLOYD


06-11-2020

ZUCCHERO


20-11-2020

SUZANE

NEIL YOUNG & CRAZY HORSE

Thursday, 11 July 2013

Main Hall: Standing

Rockhal Main Hall

5, avenue du Rock'n'Roll, Esch, Alzette Luxembourg L-4361

Price: 60 € + 5 € presale fee

Show: 19.50 hrs

Doors: 19.00 hrs

Support: JONATHAN WILSON
Organized by: Rockhal

NEIL YOUNG & CRAZY HORSE

Jonathan Wilson: 19:50
Neil Young: 21:00

 

Following the positive reviews that greeted the recent expansive double-album “Psychedelic Pill”, Neil Young & Crazy Horse has now confirmed details of a European tour, with a highly awaited stopover at the Rockhal on 11 July 2013. The show represents Young’s first date in Luxembourg since his triumphant show back in 1987 with his legendary band Crazy Horse (Frank ‘Poncho’ Sampedro, Billy Talbot and Ralph Molina).

Neil Young & Crazy Horse recently completed a North American tour and are next scheduled to tour Australia and New Zealand next March, before the European leg begins at the start of the summer.

Young's thirty-fifth album “Psychedelic Pill” was released in October 2012 and is among the best-reviewed pieces of work from the Canadian hitmaker's entire catalogue. The album opens with “Driftin’ Back”, a gripping, 27-minute epic which starts with an acoustic intro (the only section of the album which was recorded in Kamuela, Hawaii) before it pokes down pathways that have been hinted at before, but never fully explored. Jesus, the Maharishi and Picasso make appearances in the song, Young noting how the images and messages associated with them are invariably corrupted or misconstrued. And, he fears, his own message and art have been corrupted and diminished by the very technology that has made it more accessible.

Two other songs on the album touch in similarly expansive musical territory, the elegiac ode “Ramada Inn” and the spirited prayer of “Walk Like A Giant”. Other highlights include “Born in Ontario” which offers further detail and new perspectives to the explicitly autobiographical thread that winds back to “Helpless”; “Twisted Road” is a joyous thank-you note to some of the others who inspired (and continue to inspire) him, with Bob Dylan (“Like Hank Williams chewin’ bubble gum / Askin’ me ‘How does it feel’”) at the fore; and the title track is phased, swirling stomp in which he honours the rock ‘n’ roll spirit at its most pure.

The show promises to showcase both new material and the classic hits that made Neil Young a household name. Without a doubt the critical acclaim surrounding the tour dates illustrates just how Neil Young continues to pull massive crowds five decades into his impressive career. Don’t miss out on seeing Neil Young & Crazy Horse live at the Rockhal on 11 July 2013. This will be an absolute must-see event!

 

Videos from 


SUBSCRIBE

Whats On

June 2017
S M T W T F S
  01 02 03
04 05 06 07 08 09 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23
25 26
27
28
29 30  
28-06-2017
KALEO
Club

Tell your friends

RSS