Bilder zum Artikel

KEZIAH JONES

Friday, 8 June 2012

Club: Standing

Rockhal Club

5, avenue du Rock'n'Roll, Esch, Alzette Luxembourg L-4361

Price: 26,- € + 2,6 € presale fee

Show: 20.30 hrs
Doors: 20.00 hrs

Support: AS MALICK AND BLUE TRIBE
Organized by: Rockhal

KEZIAH JONES

Keziah Jones, the king of Blufunk, will electrify the Rockhal on 8 June 2012. The renowned cosmopolitan bluesman and dandy will make you dance to his demonised rhythms. Watch out for the groove.

Keziah Jones is born Olufemi Sanyaolu in 1968 in Lagos, Nigeria. As an electric guitar virtuoso, he invented a musical style which he describes as Blufunk, a fusion of funk, rock and blues. In 1992, Delabel signed him after he was discovered in the Paris Métro. One year later, he released his first album "Blufunk is a fact", which became an immediate success. His hit singles "Rhythm is love" was a worldwide triumph. His melodic and and edgy songs are reminiscent of his eternal idols: Jimi Hendrix and Fela Kuti, the king of afro beat.

His second album "African Space Craft" was released in 1995, followed by "Liquid Sunshine" in 1999. In 2003, he chalked up another huge success with "Black Orpheus". As in the cult film which he admires, he sings about religion, negritude, beauty, subjugation and love. The fifth, and last to date, album by Keziah Jones is "Nigerian Wood", a sensual blink of the eye to "Norwegian Wood" by the Beatles. This record deals even more with pride and love than its predecessors. It illustrates the confrontation between African avant-garde and the great American black music. The sixth album is announced for this fall.

Blending funk, soul, blues, pop, rock and acoustic, with a particular touch of African style and sound, bossa nova and afro beat, blue funk is a modern and multi-faceted musical style. This successful yet unforced fusion of genres is Keziah's trade mark and one of the keys to his success. In parallel, his lyrics deal with the political and cultural conflicts his country has gone through, and the personal conflicts he has to face due to his cosmopolitan culture.

Keziah Jones is also very involved in humanitarian causes. For instance, he participated in the "Africa Celebrates Democracy" concert with Youssou N'Dour.

Committed artist and occasional philosopher Keziah Jones will "blufunk" the Rockhal for the first time on Friday, 8 June 2012. Eclectic concert guaranteed.

Rockhal is a partner of KULTURPASS

Whats On

August 2014
S M T W T F S
  01 02
03 04 05 06 07 08 09
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31  

Tell your friends

RSS

Upcoming Shows

KEZIAH JONES

Freitag, 8. Juni 2012

Club: Stehplätze

Rockhal Club

5, avenue du Rock'n'Roll, Esch, Alzette Luxembourg L-4361

Preis: 26,- € + 2,6 € VVK Gebühr

Show: 20.30 Uhr
Einlass ab: 20.00 Uhr

Support: AS MALICK AND BLUE TRIBE
Organized by: Rockhal

KEZIAH JONES

Keziah Jones, der König des Blufunk, wird die Rockhal am 8. Juni 2012 elektrisieren. Der weltweit bekannte Bluesman, Kosmopolit und durchgeknallte Dandy bringt sein Publikum mit verteufelten Rhythmen zum Tanzen. Achtung, es wird groovy.

Keziah Jones, der mit echtem Namen Olufemi Sanyaolu heißt, wurde 1968 in Lagos, Nigeria geboren. Der E-Gitarren-Virtuose verschmilzt Funk, Rock und Blues und erfindet so eine perkussionslastige Musikrichtung, die er seit seinem ersten Album als "Blufunk" beschreibt. 1992 unterschreibt er bei Delabel, nachdem er in der Pariser Metro entdeckt wurde. Im darauffolgenden Jahr erscheint sein Debütalbum "Blufunk is a fact", das sofort zum Erfolg wird. Der Hit "Rhythm is love" wird zum weltweiten Triumph. Seine melodischen und bissigen Songs erinnern an seine unsterblichen Idole: Jimi Hendrix und Fela Kuti, der König des Afro Beat.

Sein zweites Album "African Space Craft" erschien 1995, gefolgt 1999 von "Liquid Sunshine". Erst 2003 landete er dann mit "Black Orpheus" einen erneuten Erfolg. Wie in dem gleichnamigen Kultfilm, den er anbetet, geht es hier um Religion, Négritude, Schönheit, Knechtschaft und Liebe. Das fünfte und bislang letzte Album von Keziah Jones ist "Nigerian Wood", dessen Titel augenzwinkernd mit "Norwegian Wood" von den Beatles spielt. Mehr noch als bei seinen Vorgängern geht es auf diesem Album um Stolz und Liebe. Es steht für die Konfrontation zwischen afrikanischer Avantgarde und der großen schwarzen Musik aus Amerika. Sein sechstes Album ist für diesen Herbst angekündigt.

Mit seinem Mix aus Funk, Soul, Blues, Pop, Rock und Akkustik, sowie einem Touch von afrikanischem Style und Sound, von Bossa Nova und Afro Beat ist Blufunk ein moderner, facettenreicher Musikstil. Die gelungene, weil nie gezwungen wirkende Fusion von Genres ist Keziah Jones' Markenzeichen und nach wie vor der Schlüssel zu seinem Erfolg. Parallel dazu geht es in seinen Texten um die politischen und kulturellen Konflikte in seinem Land, aber auch um die persönlichen Konflikte eines durch die kosmopolitische Kultur geprägten Menschen.

Keziah Jones engagiert sich stark für humanitäre Zwecke. Letzten November folgte er dem Ruf von Youssou N'Dour und trat beim "Africa Celebrates Democracy"-Konzert auf.

Der engagierte Künstler, Teilzeitphilosoph und Hutträger Keziah Jones "blufunkt" am Freitag, 8. Juni 2012 zum ersten Mal die Rockhal. Mit Garantie ein großes Konzert.

Rockhal is a partner of KULTURPASS

SUBSCRIBE

Whats On

Mai 2016
S M D M D F S
01 02 03 04 05 06
07
08
09
10 11
12
13
14
15
16 17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29 30
31
 
07-05-2016
24 HEURES ELECTRONIQUES: DAY
Rocklab
ROCKHAL TOUR
Rockhal and Rocklab: guided tour
08-05-2016
09-05-2016
24H ELECTRO FOR KIDS
Rocklab
12-05-2016
18-05-2016
Only 2 Sticks - EP Release
The Floor
20-05-2016
SOULHENGE
Floor
21-05-2016
22-05-2016
HANS ZIMMER
Main Hall
23-05-2016
HANS ZIMMER
Main Hall
25-05-2016
27-05-2016
IL VOLO
Main Hall
31-05-2016
KORN
Rockhal Box

Tell your friends

RSS