Bilder zum Artikel

THE MARS VOLTA

Wednesday, 4 July 2012

Club: Standing

Rockhal Club

5, avenue du Rock'n'Roll, Esch, Alzette Luxembourg L-4361

Price: 33,- € + 3,3 € presale fee

Show: 20.30 hrs
Doors: 20.00 hrs

Support: LES BUTCHERETTES
Organized by: Rockhal

THE MARS VOLTA

Grammy Award-winning progressive rockers The Mars Volta recently released their highly awaited sixth studio album "Noctourniquet", the band's first since 2009. The bandmates Cedric Bixler-Zavala and Omar Rodriguez-Lopez are about to embark on a busy tour with a highly awaited stopover at the Rockhal on 04 July 2012.

Picking up the pieces from At the Drive-In, Cedric Bixler-Zavala and Omar Rodriguez-Lopez formed the Mars Volta in 2001 and wasted little time branching out into elements of hardcore, psychedelic rock, and free jazz that expanded on the boundaries of their previous work. Although their previous band's demise ultimately arrived before they were able to truly capitalize on their mounting commercial triumphs, the Mars Volta immediately impressed with their willingness to avoid conventional logic and push themselves into new artistic directions instead of opting for the more marketable sounds.

The Mars Volta debuted with the EP Temulant in 2002 yet their reputation was built over their staggering and energetic live shows, as well as their concept-based studio albums. The group received recognition opening for the "Red Hot Chili Peppers", as bassist Flea proclaimed them to be the best opener he'd ever had. Later they released the albums "Frances The Mute", "Amputechture", "The Bedlam in Goliath" and "Octahedron".

The brand new studio album by The Mars Volta was released just recently under the title "Noctourniquet". The thirteen song long album, explores musical areas they'd not previously set foot upon in the past twenty years. The daring diversity of the new material makes the album one of the band's most refined achievements to date. Just as with previous The Mars Volta albums, the lyrics carry you away on a journey, one this time inspired by diverse elements such as UK alt-rockers The Godfathers from the 80's and tell the story of a character inspired by the Superman villain Solomon Grundy and the Greek myth of Hyacinthus.

Now, the American prog wizards The Mars Volta are ready to show Luxembourg what's up when they roll up into town, as they will represent their new sound to the crowd of the Rockhal on 4 July 2012.

Rockhal is a partner of KULTURPASS

Videos from 


Whats On

October 2014
S M T W T F S
 
01
02
03
04
05
06
07
08 09 10 11
12
13
14 15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29 30 31  
01-10-2014
IN FLAMES
Rockhal Box
03-10-2014
AZEALIA BANKS
Club
04-10-2014
13-10-2014
HONEYBLOOD
Rockhal Cafe
17-10-2014
18-10-2014
19-10-2014
21-10-2014
23-10-2014
24-10-2014
DISTRICT 7
The Floor
27-10-2014

Tell your friends

RSS

Bilder zum Artikel

THE MARS VOLTA

Mittwoch, 4. Juli 2012

Club: Stehplätze

Rockhal Club

5, avenue du Rock'n'Roll, Esch, Alzette Luxembourg L-4361

Preis: 33,- € + 3,3 € VVK Gebühr

Show: 20.30 Uhr
Einlass ab: 20.00 Uhr

Support: LES BUTCHERETTES
Organized by: Rockhal

THE MARS VOLTA

Die Grammy-Gewinner und Progressive Rocker The Mars Volta haben kürzlich ihr sehnsüchtig erwartetes sechstes Studioalbum "Noctourniquet" veröffentlicht, das erste seit 2009. Die Bandkollegen Cedric Bixler Zavala und Omar Rodriguez-Lopez machen sich gerade auf den Weg zu einer anstrengenden Tour, mit einem gespannt erwarteten Zwischenstopp in der Rockhal am 4. Juli 2012.

Indem sie die Überreste von At the Drive-In aufsammelten, gründeten Cedric Bixler-Zavala und Omar Rodriguez-Lopez 2001 The Mars Volta und vergeudeten keine Zeit, sich auch in Richtung Hardcore, Psychedelic Rock und Free Jazz vorzuwagen, was deutlich über die Grenzen ihrer vorherigen Arbeiten hinausging. Auch wenn ihre vorherige Band das Zeitliche gesegnet hatte, bevor sie ihre zunehmenden finanziellen Erfolge kapitalisieren konnte, beeindruckten The Mars Volta doch sofort mit ihrem Willen, konventionelle Logik zu vermeiden und sich in neue künstlerische Dimensionen vorzuwagen, statt sich für markttauglichere Klänge zu entscheiden.

The Mars Volta debütierten 2002 mit der EP "Ternulant", doch ihren guten Ruf erwarben sie sich mit ihren umwerfenden und energiestrotzenden Live-Shows sowie ihren konzeptbasierten Studioalben. Als Opening Act für die Red Hot Chili Peppers verdiente die Band sich erste Lorbeeren, als Bassist Flea verkündete, sie sei die beste Vorgruppe gewesen, die er je gehabt hätte. Danach veröffentlichten sie die Alben "Frances The Mute", "Amputechture", "The Bedlam in Goliath" und "Octahedron".

Das brandneue Studioalbum von The Mars Volta wurde kürzlich unter dem Titel "Noctourniquet" veröffentlicht. Auf den dreizehn Songs des Albums wagen sie sich in musikalische Gefilde vor, die sie in den vergangenen zwanzig Jahren nicht betreten haben. Die mutige Vielfalt des neuen Materials macht die Platte zu so ziemlich dem besten, was die Band bislang hervorgebracht hat. Wie schon bei den vorherigen The Mars Volta-Alben nehmen die Texte euch mit auf die Reise, und zwar diesmal auf eine von verschiedenen Elementen, wie etwa den UK-Alt-Rockern The Godfathers aus den 80er-Jahren inspirierte, und erzählen die Geschichte eines vom Supermann-Schurken Solomon Grundy und dem griechischen Mythos Hyazinthus geprägten Charakters.

Nun sind die energiegeladenen amerikanischen Progressive-Zauberer von The Mars Volta bereit, Luxemburg zu zeigen, was passiert, wenn sie loslegen, und präsentieren den Fans in der Rockhal am 4. Juli 2012 ihren neuesten Sound.

Rockhal is a partner of KULTURPASS

Videos from 


Whats On

Juli 2014
S M D M D F S
  01 02 03 04 05
06 07 08 09 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31  

Tell your friends

RSS